Innovation and Diversity

in Marine Design


The work performed by Robert Allan Ltd. has been widely recognized for its contribution to the advancement of the state of the art in specialized commercial ship design. Some of these awards, either to individuals or the company in total, are noted below.

Received by Robert G. Allan

  • ABS Linnard Prize
    • 2001 – “The Evolution of Escort Tug Technology… Fulfilling a Promise”
  • BC Export Award
    • 2017 – Leadership Award Winner
  • RINA Small Craft Group Medal
    • 2005 – Awarded by the Royal Institution of Naval Architects in the UK, “for his contribution to the field of workboat design, and in particular for his innovative work in the development of tugboats for all types of operations.”
  • SNAME Taylor Medal
    • 2005 – The David W. Taylor Medal “for notable achievements in naval architecture”. Rob Allan is the only Canadian ever to be so recognized.
  • SS Beaver Medal for Maritime Excellence
    • 2012 – Awarded by the Maritime Museum of British Columbia to “the individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the marine sector in our Province.

Received by Rollie Webb

  • SS Beaver Medal for Maritime Excellence
    • 2017 – Awarded by the Maritime Museum of British Columbia to “the individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the marine sector in our Province.

Received by Ken Harford

  • CIMarE Medal of Excellence
    • 2016 – The National Council conferred the award on Mr. Ken Harford P.Eng., retiring Managing Director of Robert Allan Ltd. The presentation was made in absentia at Mari-Tech, Canada’s annual marine technology exhibition and conference in St. Johns, Newfoundland.

Received by Robert Allan Ltd.

  • ABS Linnard Prize (with Chief James Dalton and Chief William Siegel)
    • 2011 – “Concept Development, Detail Design and Construction of the Three Forty Three – North America’s Most Powerful Fireboat.”
  • BC Export Award
    Sponsored by the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters British Columbia association, in partnership with the B.C. Government Ministry of International Trade

    • 2016 – Professional Services Category winner
    • 2015 – Professional Services Category finalist
  • iF Design Award
  • Red Dot Award
    • 2005 – Awarded the prestigious Red Dot Design Award “Best of the Best” for the highest design quality, expressing innovation in form and function in an outstanding manner for the Z-Tech® tug design, as developed for PSA Marine of Singapore
  • Singapore Design Award
    • 2004 – Awarded to the Z-Tech® tug design as developed for PSA Marine of Singapore
  • Tug Technology & Business
    • 2017 – Tug of the Year: RAstar 4000-DF for Østensjø Rederi
  • Work Boat World magazine (Australia)
    • 2017 – Best Designer of the Year (North America)
    • 2016 – Best OSV-AHTS Designer
    • 2016 – Best ASD Harbour Tug Designer
    • 2015 – Best Designer of the Year
    • 2014 – Best Designer of the Year
  • Workboat magazine (USA)
    Significant Boat of the Year Awards (for US boats only)

    • 2017 – Trident, Triton & Trinity: ART 80-98US for Seabulk Towing Inc.
    • 2017 – Gladys B: RApport 2400 MkII for E.N. Bisso & Son Inc.
    • 2016 – Protector & Vigilance: RAnger V-3300 fireboat for the Port of Long Beach
    • 2015 – Michelle Sloan & Lela Franco: RAmparts 2400 tugs for Harley Marine Services
    • 2014 – Signet Arcturus & Signet Polaris: RAmparts 3200 tugs for Signet Maritime
    • 2011 – Tristan K and Hercules: Z-Tech® 30-75 tugs for G&H Towing
    • 2011 – Christopher Wheatley: RAnger P-2700 for the Chicago Fire Department
    • 2010 – Independence: RAstar 3900 tug for Boston Towing & Transportation
    • 2009 – Three Forty Three: RAnger P-4200 fireboat for FDNY
    • 2009 – Carolyn Dorothy: RApport 2400 MkII world’s first hybrid tug for Foss
    • 2008 – Independence: RAnger J-2000 fireboat for the Philadelphia Fire Department
    • 2007 – Thor: first Z-Tech® 30-70 for G&H Towing
    • 2006 – Dolphin-Class tugs for Foss Maritime

For more information about the work of Robert Allan Ltd., see News.

Related Press Releases

2012.11.27 Robert G. Allan awarded S.S. Beaver medal
2016.06.06 Ken Harford, P.Eng. Awarded the CIMarE 2016 Medal of Excellence
2016.11.24 Robert Allan Ltd. Wins 2016 BC Export Award
2017.06.02 2017 Robert Allan Ltd. Marine Design Innovation Award
2017.10.23 Robert Allan receives the Meritorious Achievement Award from EGBC
2017.11.10 Rollie Webb receives SS Beaver Medal for Maritime Excellence
2017.11.29 Rob Allan Wins BC Export Leadership Award